Configuring License

OSLC Connect for Jira license is a file with a lic extension that you can request from the managing page. Whether it is a trial license or renew an existing one, this is done just by clicking in the corresponding link which will open the default email application. The email template will contain most of the required data to file the license; please complete any remaining data before sending the email [1].

Configuring the license must be the first thing you configure after installation because it is required to configure everything else.

Here are the steps to configure the license:

  1. Enter to the JIRA ADMINISTRATION > Manage apps page.
  2. On the left panel, click on the License option in the OSLC Connect section.
  3. On the right panel, click on the License field.
  4. Use the opened dialog to locate and select the license file from your file system.
  5. Once the file is selected and the dialog is closed, click on the Upload button.

If everything went ok, the Status area will change to show the expiration time of your license. A Features area will also be displayed to show the individual status of each feature according to the uploaded license. Available features are:

OSLC Connect For Jira
Provides general access to this app.
(This feature is visible only if you are using a Jira Server instance)
 
OSLC Connect For Jira Data Center
Provides general access to this app in Data Center.
(This feature is visible only if you are using a Jira Data Center instance)
 
Global Configuration
Enables linking to OSLC applications in a Global Configuration context.
 
Tracked Resource Set
Enables OSLC indexing and reporting applications to poll Jira issues.

All license files come with at least one of two first features granted which provides general access/use to the app. Additional features are optional and can be acquired separately if required [2]. When a feature is granted, you will see the message: This feature is granted. in the corresponding feature area; otherwise, you will see the corresponding error/restriction message. It is worth to mention that, in this latter case, app users will still be able to navigate to the corresponding feature pages [3], but they won't be able to change/create anything [4], an error message will constantly remind them the license/feature issue.

Configuring the license must be considered as a prerequisite for all other configurations.