Managing Collaboration Links from Jira

Managing links between two associated projects can be done in both ends. To add, remove or see a collaboration link in Jira, you first need to navigate or open the issue. Adding or removing a collaboration link requires you have the rights to do so.

Creating a link to an existing Remote OSLC Application artifact.

  1. Locate and click the More button in the Operations bar area.
  2. Locate and click the Collaboration Link option at the end of the opened menu [1].
  3. In the opened dialog, select the link type you want to create [2], [3].
  4. A new Project combo will be displayed with the available remote projects to select [4], [5].
  5. As soon as you select the project, a pop-up window will appear [6]. If you hadn't previously started a OSLC Link Application session in the same browser, the new window will show you the OSLC Link Application login page and you must continue with this step, otherwise please go to the next one [7]. Login page is here to complete the user authentication process, please provide a valid user credentials, it is not necessary that such user has an admin role [7].
  6. What happens after the user authentication process (or if you had already started a session in other browser's tab) depends on whether Jira consumer was configured as trusted or not on the Remote OSLC Application. If it was configured as trusted, the only thing you need to do is to ignore a blank page that will be displayed for a few milliseconds, and then you can go to the next step; otherwise, you will see the Authorize Application page which is a last confirmation to allow Jira accessing the Remote OSLC Application information on behalf the user you used to login [8]. Authorize the access and then close the pop-up window when indicated if it is not closed automatically.
  7. Back on the Adding Collaboration Links dialog, two new radio buttons may exist: Link to existing - if chosen, it will display the available artifact types for the logged-in user; Create new - if chosen, it will display a form to create a new artifact of the selected type [9]. The availability of these radios will depend of the actual implementation of the Remote OSLC Application. Choose the radio that better fits your needs and follow the instructions of the dialog to create or select the artifact to which you want to link to.
  8. Confirm the selection or creation of the artifact to create the link.

If everything went ok, the dialog will be closed and you will see the new link(s) created on the Collaboration links field. If, on the other hand, you see the Failed to add the back link(s) dialog, please contact your administrator in order to check the communication with the Remote OSLC Application, or any other issue before continue. At this point, the safest is to click on the Cancel button and wait for a resolution.

Removing Collaboration Links

To remove a collaboration link:

  1. In the Collaboration Links field, choose the specific link you want to remove.
  2. Click on the trash icon displayed at the end of the link row.
  3. On the Confirm delete dialog, click the OK button.

If everything went ok, the dialog will be closed, the link was removed from system and it will no longer appear in the Collaboration links field. If on the other hand, you see the Failed to remove the back link dialog, please contact your administrator in order to check the communication with Remote OSLC Application, or any other issue before continue. At this point, the safest is to click on the Cancel button and wait for a resolution.

Updating Collaboration Links

  1. Removing Collaboration Links.
  2. Creating a link to an existing SECollab artifact.