Visualizing Collaboration Links

When a Collaboration Link is created, you can visualize it in the Issue Links area. They will be grouped by Collaboration Link type and they will include an icon and a title. If you are entering Jira and you have not started a session with the OSLC Remote Application yet, you won't be able to see the actual icon nor the preview of the remote artifact. The preview is a shortened view of the artifact (just the most important properties are included) that is displayed when you pass the mouse over the artifact link for a second [1], [2]. What you get hovering the mouse on the artifact link without a session is a way to start it: you will see the message: Log-in to see the preview content. In this scenario, you only need to click on the Log-in link embedded in the message to start the authentication/authorization process. If, on the other hand, the message that you get is No preview available. means that there is no a friend application registered for this link and therefore, there is no way to get a preview, please contact an administrator to see whether is possible to register such a friend application and get previews. Finally, if you get a Couldn’t get more information. message, means something else is wrong, please contact an administrator to inform her/him of the problem.

Once the authentication/authorization process is completed, it is expected you see the actual artifact icon, title [3] and its preview by hovering it, but other scenarios exist:

Remote applications can actually provide one or two previews known as small and large previews. As you may guess, they are intended to show less or more information but sometimes applications can decide to provide only one of them or even can decide to provide both but with no difference between the content. In any case, when both previews are available, the small preview will be displayed by default and a maximize button will appear just before the close icon on the top-right corner of the window. By pressing such icon you can switch between the small and large preview at your convenience.

Global Configurations Compatibility

If Jira issue is using a Global Configuration, the preview will correspond to the versioned artifact in that configuration. You can know which configuration is used by hovering the config/branch icon at the right of the link's row [5]. Now, if the remote artifact is removed, case is a bit different than before because the artifact could still exist in another configuration [6], thus a warning-link icon will be used instead of the error-link and the message hovering it will advise the user on this situation. Another case for using a warning-icon is when the issue is not using a Global Configuration but the Collaboration Link expects so; users may end up in this situation if they deliberately remove the Global Configuration association from the issue or they were using the creation dialog and ignored the warning about not finding a version mapped to the current Global Configuration used on the remote application. For this case, the hovering message will advise the user on how to set a Global Configuration.

It's worth to mention that these warning-link icons and hovering messages do not apply if the OSLC Remote Application is IBM Engineering Test Management, this application provides it's own icon (and hovering messages) for missing artifacts.