Associating a Jira Version with a Global Configuration

Following are the steps to associate a Jira Version with a GC.

  1. In the Project settings page, locate and click on the Global Configuration option in the OSLC Connect section.
  2. Search and/or select the Jira Version to associate with a GC and click on the corresponding Actions column (on the tree dots icon) [1]. Searching is done by typing a text on the Filter Versions with name/description field and clicking on the Search button. This will search for all project versions containing the typed text on their name or description (combined with the current status filter) [2].
  3. Click on the Select Configuration... option in the opened menu to open the Global Configuration Picker dialog.
  4. If you have registered more than one GC friend (and you haven't associated a single Version before), the dialog will ask you to start by selecting a friend application [3]. As soon as the friend application is selected (manually or automatically), a pop-up window will appear [4]. If you hadn't previously started an IBM Global Configuration Management (GCM) application session, in the same browser, the new window will show you the GCM login page and you must continue with this step, otherwise please go to the next one [5]. The login page is here to complete the user authentication process, so please provide valid user credentials, it is not necessary that such user has an admin role [5], [6].
  5. At this point, the GCM application provides the GC selection dialog, navigate to the one you are interested of and select it.

If everything went ok, the GCM dialog will be closed and the chosen GC will be displayed on the Configuration column of the versions table. If you want to change the associated GC, you can click on the Select Configuration... option again and repeat the procedure. If you want to remove the associated GC, click on the Clear Configuration... option instead and confirm when prompted [7]. Note: making changes or removing a GC association will affect all existing Collaboration Links using such version, breaking some of them or what is worst, making them pointing to a different version of an artifact, this is why you shouldn't change/remove the mapping association once is set and after creating Collaboration Links.

IBM Engineering Lifecycle Management (ELM) 7.0.2+ Users

If you're using GC's of IBM Global Configuration Management 7.0.2 (or higher versions), check related tasks for further information.

Here it is explained also what is the purpose of the Synchronize... button.

Related tasks
Synchronizing Jira Versions with ELM Global Configurations