Managing Friends

A friend is another web application that allows this application to send requests on behalf of an authorized user. In other words, a friend is a server application that makes its information available for consulting (or possible creating/updating) to this application using an authorized friend-application user.

Friends are needed to create outgoing collaboration links, this means you need to register the Remote OSLC Application as a friend of Jira if you want to create collaboration links on Jira side; keep in mind that additional configuration will be required on the Remote OSLC Application side, but for now let's focus on the requirements of this side.

It is worth to mention that a friend is not bound to any particular friend-application user; at the proper working moment, the friend will request the friend-application user credentials to allow this application work on behalf of it.

Registering a Friend.

  1. On the left panel, click on the Friends option in the OSLC section.
  2. Click on the Add Friend button at the top of the right panel.
  3. Fill out the form on the Add Friend dialog according to the following field descriptions (suggested values assume you are configuring this friend for SECollab, feel free to adjust them accordingly to your real Remote OSLC Application):
    Field Required Description Notes Suggested Value
    Title Yes Logical name for human identification. Commonly the server application name. SECollab
    Root Services URI Yes The endpoint of the server root services. Must be provided by some server administrator and must use the same transfer protocol (HTTP or HTTPS) as the Jira server. https://your.domain.com
    /secollab/clm/rootservices
    Key Yes Must select either you want to create (request) a provisional key or to reuse an existing one. Requesting a provisional key means the Remote OSLC Application must approve your request before you can start accessing the system. Reuse an existing one means you have been already granted with the access to the system and therefore, you already have the corresponding consumer's key. Create Provisional
    Trusted No Whether the provisional key will be requested as trusted or not. This field will be visible only if "Create Provisional" Key value is selected. checked
    [Existing key] Yes Consumer's corresponding friend key. This field will be visible only if "Reuse Existing" Key value is selected. (Not applicable)
    Secret Yes This application password. How this application will be authenticated on the server. Whatever you want that you don't forget.
    Confirm Secret Yes Password confirmation Just a confirmation field to avoid password typos. The same as OAuth Secret field.
  4. Click on the Add button.

If everything went ok, a new friend entry will be displayed on the Friends list section; note: only the Friend Name, Root Services URI and Friend Key fields will be shown. If you requested a provisional key to the server, and it granted it, remember that such key needs to be approved, on that server, before you can start using it.

Removing a Friend.

  1. On the left panel, click on the Friends option in the OSLC section.
  2. Locate the Friends list section and table at the bottom of the center panel.
  3. Choose the friend you want to remove and click on the corresponding trash icon located on the fourth column of the table.

If everything went ok, the chosen friend will be removed from the system and it will no longer appear on the table.

Updating a Friend.

  1. Remove the friend.
  2. Register it again with the updated information.